Fauvette Loureiro Memorial Scholarship 2022 winners introduced

Set up view of Fassih Keiso’s video piece, Palmyra; Tug of Conflict, 2015-19.

Established in 1997, the Fauvette Loureiro Memorial Scholarship (FLMS) helps graduates from the Sydney School of the Arts to develop their observe by means of bursaries funding worldwide journey. 

Fassih Keiso, winner of the Established Class, will use the bursary to journey from Syria to Stockholm, retracing a journey he took 37 years in the past in the hunt for asylum. It should contribute to a bigger physique of labor mapping the private grief that emerges from the expertise of migration. 

Polish-born Elwira Skowronska, winner of the Rising Class, will use the bursary cash awarded to her to pursue a program {of professional} growth, involving residencies at MeLa Lab IUAV, Venice and the UNSW iCinema Analysis Centre, Sydney, in addition to an exhibition at Artereal Gallery and iCinema.

Dr Andrew Lavery, one among this 12 months’s FLMS judges and Co-Chair and Co-Director of the Sydney School of the Arts, mentioned the scholarship offered a useful expertise for each established and rising artists. 

“The Fauvette Scholarship performs a significant position in supporting Australian artists. Over time, the award has helped foster the careers of many extremely regarded and proficient practitioners.”

“I’m delighted to announce the 2022 winners and am thrilled to grant them the chance to additional their observe abroad,” he mentioned. 

In 2020, the scholarship was expanded to incorporate two classes (rising and mid-career/established), in recognition of how such help has the potential to progress an artist’s profession at numerous levels of their observe.

Together with Dr Lavery, the judges of this 12 months’s scholarship embrace Megan Monte, inaugural Director of Ngununggula; and Danie Mellor, a multidisciplinary artist whose work explores the intersections of latest and historic tradition. 

Supply hyperlink

You May Also Like